April 2020

Inside the April Issue


The Human Factor
Preventing Slips, Trips and Falls

Walking is one of the most common human activities. It’s also one that most people are oblivious to while they’re doing it, which is why slips and falls are so common. Getting people to pay more attention to where they’re placing their feet is extremely difficult to do – for good reason. It goes against human nature. Walking can be dangerous. We do it so often that we don’t think about it. We let our guard down, even when we shouldn’t. Even when hazards increase, like when you come in from the rain and instead of using the handrail on the stairs for support, you run up hands-free and a slip, trip or fall incident occurs.

Changing Behaviors and Mitigating Hazards
How can we get facilities staff, tenants, and visitors to use more logical, deliberative thinking when it comes to safety? The first thing to do is acknowledge that it’s pretty much impossible to get people to change their daily habits – especially when ‘automated mode’ is built into our brains. Thus, best practice is to put regulations and processes in place that dictate certain behaviors and mitigate hazardous situations.

Full story »

Latest Video

6 Steps to Prevent COVID-19 from the CDC

Daily News

CCOHS Youth Safety Video Contest Deadlines Extended

FSM Staff | 04.09.20

HAMILTON, ON -- Due to the disruptions and closures related to the COVID-19 pandemic, the Canadian Centre for Occupational Health and Safety (CCOHS) has extended the deadlines for the Focus on Safety Youth Video Contest’s Regional Qualifier and National contest.

Full article »

OSHA Expands Temporary Guidance for Respirator Fit-Testing to All Industries during Pandemic

FSM Staff | 04.09.20

WASHINGTON, DC - The U.S. Department of Labor’s Occupational Safety and Health Administration (OSHA) has expanded temporary guidance provided in a March 14, 2020, memorandum regarding supply shortages of N95s or other filtering facepiece respirators (FFRs) due to the COVID-19 pandemic. This expanded guidance applies to all workplaces covered by OSHA where there is required respirator use.

Full article »

OSHA Reminds Employers No Retaliation Against Workers Reporting Unsafe Conditions During Coronavirus Pandemic

FSM Staff | 04.08.20

WASHINGTON, DC -- The U.S Department of Labor’s Occupational Safety and Health Administration (OSHA) is reminding employers that it is illegal to retaliate against workers because they report unsafe and unhealthful working conditions during the coronavirus pandemic.

Full article »

OSHA Publishes New OSHA Poster Aimed at Reducing Workplace Exposure to the Coronavirus

FSM Staff | 04.08.20

WASHINGTON, DC -- The U.S. Department of Labor’s Occupational Safety and Health Administration (OSHA) has issued a new poster listing steps all workplaces can take to reduce the risk of exposure to coronavirus.

Full article »

Nationwide Power Takes Steps to Prioritize Customer and Employee Safety

FSM Staff | 04.07.20

HENDERSON, NV -- As an essential business operation, providing customers with critical power services across the U.S., Nationwide Power will remain open for emergency service and time-sensitive needs.

Full article »